No Sleeping In My Daughters Bed

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Music
Building a family out of strangers.

Building a family out of strangers.

Tommy and Astrid are truly an inspiration to anyone who wants to honestly better themselves. A couple, who just a year ago introduced the Los Angeles music scene to the sounds of the Moon Bandits. Hearing them for the first time at my new friend Ryan’s house in California was an amazing experience. The crowd was a mix of anarchists, punks, high school misfits, and weary travelers. The rowdy bunch nor banjo malfunctions could damper Tommy’s explanation of why his music meant so much to him. Those who listened got a message of hope and challenge to be the change you truly want to see.

The following night in Riverside I learned a few things that I will never forget. We pulled into town and went to see the venue the bands would be playing at. The Blood-Orange Info Center is a great place for artists, musicians and other community out-reach groups to have an outlet. Grabbing a bit to eat at a local cafe I got the worst phone call of my life. My grandma had passed away about the same time we had arrived. I explained the situation to my companions and excused myself to be alone and proceeded to mourn in my own manner. Having the obligation to be taking pictures of the show I headed back to the space and let the night start up. When the words “I don’t have time for depression” came from Tommy I snapped out of my state of mind I had been in all night. Following them back to their house to crash for the night talks about self importance, understand true potential, and even the Black Panthers concluded my stay. It was an unforgettable time with two people who truly understand what it means to be a human being. Check out the video for ‘Pedestrian’ produced by Dan Ramirez right here and remember never give up on yourself.

Leave a Reply

